2013 State of Origin Series Recap

The 2013 State of Origin series was the 33rd time the annual best-of-three series between the Queensland and New South Wales rugby league teams was played entirely under ‘state of origin’ rules. It was the first series to be administered by the Australian Rugby League Commission which was created in a major re-structure of the sport’s administration in Australia.

Originally, Queensland were to host two home matches this year, however the ARLC Commission announced in November 2012 a new five-year cycle which would see New South Wales instead host two home matches this year, as well as in 2016, the Maroons to host two home matches in 2014 and 2017 and the remaining match in 2015 to be hosted at a neutral venue.

Former Canberra, Queensland and Australian captain Mal Meninga will continue on as coach of the Queensland side, looking to continue his winning run having won the previous seven series. New South Wales will be coached by former Canberra, NSW and Australia captain Laurie Daley, who took over from yet another former Canberra, NSW and Australia teammate Ricky Stuart who moved on from State of Origin duty following the 2012 series to coach Parramata.

Queensland won the State of Origin series by winning two of the three matches; thus stretching their record-breaking State of Origin winning streak to eight years and thus successfully defending their shield. Cameron Smith won the Wally Lewis Medal for being the best player in the series.